Art & Art History Faculty

Barbara Ardan, Lecturer in Art
B.A., Wellesley College
ardanb@hartwick.edu

Elizabeth Ayer, Professor of Art History, Coordinator of ISP
Ph.D., Rutgers University
ayere@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance and Baroque Art, Art of Imperial China and Art of the Andes, 13th century Italian painting and the impact of Byzantine art and culture in the West.

Richard Barlow, Assistant Professor of Art
MFA, University of Minnesota
barlowr@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: drawing, painting, two-dimensional design

Leah Frankel, Visiting Professor of Art
MFA, The Ohio State University
frankell@hartwick.edu

Kevin Gray, Lecturer in Photography and 2D Technician
MFA, Art Institute of Boston at Lesley University
grayk@hartwick.edu

Erik Halvorson, Glass Artist in Residence and 3D Technician
MFA, NYSCC at Alfred University
halvorsone@hartwick.edu

Kenneth Havenstein, Lecturer in Art History
Ph.D., Binghamton University
havensteink@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Medieval through Baroque Art, women and art, music and politics in medieval art.

Katharine Kreisher, Professor of Art
MFA, State University of New York at Albany
kreisherk@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: documentary photography, alternative processes, photo-related printmaking methods.

Stephanie Rozene, Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Art & Art History
MFA, NSCAD
rozenes@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: ceramics, craft history, wheel throwing, hand building, surface decoration, glaze chemistry and application, electric and gas-fired kilns.

Joseph Von Stengel, Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Art and Art History
MFA, University of Oregon
vonstengelj@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: digital art and design, image manipulation, animation, video, web and video games, physical computing and installation art.

Douglas Zullo, Associate Professor of Art History
Ph.D., The Ohio State University
zullod@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: modern western art, art of the 19th and 20th centuries, contemporary art, world cinema, history of photography, and Buddhist art, cross-currents between visual art, music, literature, and performance.

Back To Top