Recognitions and Awards

The Office of Academic Affairs administers several awards and recognitions for faculty. They include:

  • Margaret B. Bunn Award for Excellence in Teaching: Presented annually to a member of the faculty judged by students who graduated five years earlier to have been the most outstanding faculty member with whom they studied.
  • Faculty Research Grants: Grants in support of faculty research, scholarship, and artistic activity. The grants, fundamental to our faculty development program, are designed to assist faculty in their growth as scholar-teachers.
  • Winifred Wandersee Scholar-in-Residence Program: Aims both to increase support for scholarship and to make scholars and scholarship visible within the liberal arts setting by selecting up to two scholars-in-residence each academic year from among tenured and tenure-track faculty.
  • Teacher-Scholar Award: Award is made to an outstanding faculty member who enhances teaching with his or her own scholarship, research, or creative work, integrating the perspective of seeker and teacher and strengthening the College's academic climate by demonstrating to students and colleagues the value and excitement of scholarly inquiry.