• Hartwick students giving a presentation in front of the class.
  • A Hartwick student using a microscope for research.
  • A Hartwick student using a microscope in the science lab.
  • A Hartwick professor discussing Botany with a student.

The Religious Studies Major and Minor

The Major:
Each student who wishes to major in religious studies must develop a program of study in consultation with a faculty advisor.  Majors must complete nine courses and complete a capstone or thesis within the department. Majors take a distributuon of courses that includes selections from the three core areas (Monotheisms, Asian/Indigenous, and Modern). Finally, students are urged to explore other disciplines which will enable them to understand more fully the interconnections among religion, philosophy, history, literature, politics, psychology, art and the sciences.

Three-Year Degree Option:
For students majoring in religious studies, Hartwick’s Three-Year Bachelor’s Degree Program is a unique opportunity to earn a degree in three years. For more information visit the Program Web site at www.hartwick.edu/threeyeardegree.

The Minor:
Many students majoring in other departments choose to continue their interest in religion and religious phenomena by minoring in religious studies.  Minors must take six courses within the department that are distributed among the three core areas of the religious studies curriculum.

Departmental Honors and Distinctions:
Grades for all courses taken in religious studies are used to calculate the average in the major for Departmental Distinction.