Biology Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Dr. Mary Allen, Professor (B.A., Lafayette College; Ph.D., Florida State University) - Department Chair
Areas of Interest: Microbiology, microbial ecology 
Classes: Microbiology, Microbial Ecology, Concepts in Biology 
Email:  allenm1@hartwick.edu
More.....

Dr. Eric Cooper, Assistant Professor (B.S., Cornell University; Ph.D., Harvard University)
Areas of Interest: Molecular and Cell Biology, Immunology
Classes: Molecular Biology of the Cell, Immunology, Concepts in Biology
Email: coopere@hartwick.edu
More....

Dr. Allen Crooker, Associate Professor (B.S., M.S., University of Maine; Ph.D., Washington State University)
Areas of Interest: entomology, pathology, and neurobiology 
Classes: Human Anatomy, Electron Microscopy, Invertebrate Zoology, Neurobiology, Natural History of Madagascar
Email:  crookera@hartwick.edu
More.....

Dr. Peter Fauth, Associate Professor (B.S., SUNY, Plattsburgh; M.S., University of Maryland, College Park; Ph.D., Purdue University)
Areas of Interest: avian population and conservation ecology
Classes: Ecology, Conservation Biology, Evolution, Natural History of Costa Rica, Biology in Practice, Concepts in Biology
Peter Fauth's Home Page
Email:  fauthp@hartwick.edu
More.....

Dr. Douglas Hamilton, Professor (B.S., St. Lawrence University; Ph.D., Cornell University)
Areas of Interest: molecular plant biology 
Classes: Biology in Practice, Concepts inBiology, Plant Physiology, Plant Development, Island Biogeography 
Email:  hamiltond@hartwick.edu
More..... 

Dr. Mark Kuhlmann, Associate Professor (B.S., Hope College; M.S., Ph.D., Florida State University)
Areas of Interest: marine and aquatic biology 
Classes: Biology in Practice, Behavioral Ecology, Aquatic Ecology, Island Biogeography, Introduction to Environmental Science 
Mark Kuhlmann's Home Page 
Email:  kuhlmannm@hartwick.edu
More.....

Dr. Laura Malloy, Professor (B.A., Harpur College, SUNY at Binghamton; M.A., SUNY at Buffalo; Ph.D., University of Virginia)
Areas of Interest: cardiovascular physiology and pharmacology, women in science
Classes: Anatomy & Physiology; Exercise Physiology; Biology, Medicine and the Healing Arts (FYS); Women and Science
Email:  malloyl@hartwick.edu
More.....

Dr. A.J. Russo, Visiting Assistant Professor (B.S., Hobart College; M.A., Roswell Park Memorial Institute (SUNY at Buffalo); Ph.D., Roswell Park Memorial Institute (SUNY at Buffalo))
Areas of Interest: anatomy and physiology, experimental pathology, immunology and pathohysiology
Email: russoa2@hartwick.edu
Dr. Russo's Research Blog
More....

Dr. Munir S. Syed, Visiting Assistant Professor (M.B.B.S. (Doctor of Medicine), University of Peshawar; M. Phil. Microbiology, University of the Punjab, Pakistan)
Areas of InterestMedical Microbiology, Clinical Pathophysiology
Classes: Microbiology of Diseases, Concepts in Biology, Human Biology
Email: syedm@hartwick.edu
More... 

Dr. Stanley Sessions, Professor (B.A., University of Oregon; Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley)
Areas of Interest: evolutionary and developmental biology 
Classes: Concepts in Biology, Animal Development, Evolution, Vertebrate Zoology, Developmental Genetics, Natural History of Costa Rica 
Email:  sessionss@Hartwick.edu 
Deformed Amphibian Research at Hartwick
More.....

Dr. Linda Swift, Professor (B.S., M.S., University of Missouri; Ph.D., University of Kansas)
Areas of Interest: animal physiology, ethnopharmacology 
Classes: Medical Physiology, Comparative Physiology, Ethnobotany 
Email:  swiftl@hartwick.edu
More.....

Staff

Robert Hunt
Rob is the organizing force that helps the biology department to run smoothly and safely. He is the department's Technical Assistant and Safety Officer and is able to direct departmental resources to their full potential. Having a long history of technical service to the department, Rob trains numerous students in basic laboratory techniques as part of Hartwick's Work Study Program. When not in lab, Rob performs throughout New York State as a jazz pianist.
Email:  huntr@hartwick.edu 
Phone: 431-4765 
Office: 360 Johnstone Science Center

Nancy Heffernan
Nancy is the secretary for most of the departments in the Physical and Life Sciences.  She also assists with the Pre-Medical Program
Email: heffernann@hartwick.edu

Phone: 431-4730
Office: 203 Johnstone Science Center