• A Hartwick professor discussing Botany with a student.
  • A Hartwick professor helping a student during class.
  • Hartwick students giving a presentation in front of the class.
  • A Hartwick student using a microscope for research.

Mathematics Faculty

Department Chair:
Charles H. Scheim, Professor of Mathematics
B.A., Stonehill College; Ph.D., Brown University
Areas of interest: 
Geometry, Statistics, Number Theory

ScheimC@hartwick.edu
C. Scheim Home Page

Ronald M. Brzenk, Professor of Mathematics
B.S., St. Peters College; Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Areas of interest: 
Number Theory, Mathematical Modeling 
BrzenkR@hartwick.edu

Min Chung, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
B.S., M.S., Kyunghee University; Ph.D., Indiana University
Areas of interest:
Theory of Wavelets, Fourier Transform Theory, and Digital Image Processing and De-noising
ChungM@hartwick.edu

L. Gerald Hunsberger, Professor of Mathematics
B.S., Eastern Mennonite College; M.S., Ph.D., Northwestern University
Areas of interest: 
Number Theory, Discrete Mathematics, Calculus Pedagogy

HunsbergerG@hartwick.edu 

Gary E. Stevens, Professor of Mathematics
B.S., M.A., M.S., Bowling Green State University; Ph.D., University of Michigan
Areas of interest: 
Graph Theory, Combinatorics, Discrete Mathematics, Problem Solving, History of Mathematics

StevensG@hartwick.edu 

Emeritus Faculty:
David A. Diener, Professor of Mathematics
B.S., Lehigh University; M.S., University of Michigan; Ph.D., University of Delaware
DienerD@hartwick.edu