Honors Convocation Recognizes Student, Faculty Achievements

May 14, 2010

Hartwick College honored nearly 200 students and three faculty members Thursday night, May 13, during the College’s annual Honors Convocation.

Dr. Margaret L. Drugovich, Hartwick College President, opened the ceremony by welcoming the faculty, staff, students, and families gathered in a packed Stack Lounge to honor this year’s recipients, including the 2010-11 John Christopher Hartwick Scholars.

“We are gathered to celebrate the significant achievements of Hartwick College students who have distinguished themselves in the eyes of their professors and their mentors,” she said. “Each of our honorees has earned the praise and recognition that we bestow upon them tonight.”

Honors Convocation recognizes Hartwick students and faculty for the academic and scholarly contributions they made to the College during the 2009-10 academic year.

Among those honored were six John Christopher Hartwick Scholars. The distinction—the highest honor the College can confer upon a student—is based on academic achievement, leadership, and character. The JCH Scholars for 2010-11 are:

  • Michelle L. Brault, from Massena, NY
  • Joseph C. Marchwinski, from Bethel, CT
  • Rebecca J. Martt, from Victor, NY
  • Heather M. Quarles, from Arcata, CA
  • Suzanne V. Rigdon, from Niantic, CT
  • Emily E. Scarano, from Little Falls, NY

Thirty-three students were inducted into the Hartwick College Honor Society, and 38 were recognized for successful completion of the Hartwick College Honors Program.

The prestigious Teacher-Scholar Award was presented to Professor of Mathematics Gary E. Stevens. The award recognizes the tradition of the teacher-scholar “who enhances teaching through scholarship, research, or creative work, integrating the perspective of seeker and teacher, and demonstrates to students and colleagues the value and excitement of scholarly inquiry.”

Professor of English Thomas Travisano was recognized as this year's winner of the Winifred D. Wandersee Scholar-in-Residence Award.

Dean of U.S. Pluralism Programs Harry Bradshaw Matthews was chosen to receive this year’s Cyrus Mehri Global Pluralism Fellowship & Mentoring Faculty Award alongside the award’s student recipient, Brittanie Kemp ’11.

In closing the ceremony, Drugovich noted the students’ commitment not just to pursuits of excellence, but to the values of the Hartwick community.

“Honor is bestowed upon each of you today because of your choices,” she said. “Because of the choices you made when you came to a place where a decision made all the difference. … We are, I am, very proud of you. Congratulations.”

For the full list of all award winners honored during Honors Convocation, visit the convocation Web page.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Hartwick College is a private liberal arts and sciences college of 1,480 students, located in Oneonta, NY, in the northern foothills of the Catskill Mountains. Hartwick's expansive curriculum emphasizes a uniquely experiential approach to the liberal arts. Through personalized teaching, collaborative research, a unique January Term, a wide range of internships, and vast study-abroad opportunities, Hartwick ensures that students are prepared for the world ahead. A Three Year Bachelor's Degree Program and strong financial aid and scholarship offerings keep a Hartwick education affordable.

Contact: Jen Moritz
Phone: 607-431-4038