Student, Faculty Achievement Recognized at Honors Convocation

May 18, 2011

Click here for a photo gallery of images from this year's Honors Convocation.

Hartwick College honored nearly 200 students and three faculty members Thursday night, May 12, during the College's annual Honors Convocation.

Dr. Margaret L. Drugovich, Hartwick College President, opened the ceremony by welcoming the faculty, staff, students, and families gathered in a packed Stack Lounge to honor this year's recipients.

"We are gathered to celebrate the significant achievements of Hartwick College students who have distinguished themselves in the eyes of their professors and their mentors," she said. "Each has distinguished herself as not ordinary, but rather exceptional. Each joins a select group of Hartwick College scholars who have come before him, and each has earned our praise and recognition."

Honors Convocation recognizes Hartwick students and faculty for the academic and scholarly contributions they made to the College during the 2010-11 academic year.

Among those honored were six John Christopher Hartwick Scholars. The distinction-the highest honor the College can confer upon a student-is based on academic achievement, leadership, and character. The JCH Scholars for 2011-12 are:

  • Tasha M. Bradt '12 of Esperance, NY
  • Jamie N. deJager '12 of Unionville, NY
  • Rebecka R. Flynn '12 of Middlesex, NJ
  • Jordan Liz '12 of Bronx, NY
  • Brittany M. Morrissey '12 of Otego, NY
  • Casey L. Mullaney '12 of Niskayuna, NY­

Thirty-five students were inducted into the Hartwick College Honor Society, and 38 were recognized for successful completion of the Hartwick College Honors Program.

The prestigious Teacher-Scholar Award was presented to Professor of Sociology Dr. Katherine O'Donnell. The award recognizes the tradition of the teacher-scholar "who enhances teaching through scholarship, research, or creative work, integrating the perspective of seeker and teacher, and demonstrates to students and colleagues the value and excitement of scholarly inquiry."

Assistant Professor of Art Stephanie Rozene and Dr. Michael D. Woost, professor of Anthropology, were recognized as this year's winners of the Winifred D. Wandersee Scholar-in-Residence Award.

Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts Dr. Mark E. Shaw was chosen to receive this year's Cyrus Mehri Global Pluralism Fellowship & Mentoring Faculty Award alongside the award's student recipient, Mark de Roziere '13.

In closing the ceremony, Drugovich noted the students' commitment not just to pursuits of excellence, but to the values of the Hartwick community.

"We honor you - we choose to honor you - because your pursuit of excellence is in harmony with the values this establishment embraces," Drugovich said.  "Honor is bestowed upon each of you today because of what you have done. You reached beyond your self interest."

For the full list of all award winners honored during Honors Convocation, visit the convocation Web page.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Hartwick College is a private liberal arts and sciences college of 1,500 students, located in Oneonta, NY, in the northern foothills of the Catskill Mountains. Hartwick's expansive curriculum emphasizes a uniquely experiential approach to the liberal arts. Through personalized teaching, collaborative research, a unique January Term, a wide range of internships, and vast study-abroad opportunities, Hartwick ensures that students are prepared for the world ahead. A Three-Year Bachelor's Degree Program and strong financial aid and scholarship offerings keep a Hartwick education affordable.

Contact: Christopher Lott
Phone: 607-431-4030