President Drugovich addresses the crowd

Distinguished Students, Faculty Recognized at Honors Convocation

May 16, 2012

Hartwick College honored nearly 200 students and three faculty members Thursday night, May 10, during the College's annual Honors Convocation in Lambros Arena, Binder Physical Education Center.

Hartwick College President Dr. Margaret L. Drugovich opened the ceremony by welcoming the faculty, staff, students, and families gathered to honor this year's recipients.

"We are gathered to celebrate the significant achievements of Hartwick College students who have distinguished themselves in the eyes of their professors and their mentors," she said. "Each joins a select group of Hartwick College scholars who have come before him, and each has earned our praise and recognition. Tonight, we come together to celebrate excellence."

The 2012 JCH ScholarsHonors Convocation recognizes Hartwick students and faculty for the academic and scholarly contributions made to the College during the 2011-12 academic year.

Among those honored were six John Christopher Hartwick Scholars. The distinction-the highest honor the College can confer upon a student-is based on academic achievement, leadership, and character. The JCH Scholars for 2011-12 are:

  • Kelly R. Fayton '13 of Newbury, NH
  • Tyler R. Hall '13 of Wyckoff, NJ
  • Ashley R. Hunt '13 of Naples, ME
  • Jaclyn S. Patterson '13 of Frisco, TX
  • Mackenzie M. Shipley '13 of Sedro Woolley, WA
  • Anne Lousie Wagner '13 of South Berwick, ME

Thirty-one students were inducted into the Hartwick College Honor Society, and 32 were recognized for successful completion of the Hartwick College Honors Program.

Teacher-Scholar Award winner Associate Professor of Political Science Laurel ElderThe prestigious Teacher-Scholar Award was presented to Associate Professor of Political Science Laurel Elder. The award recognizes the tradition of the teacher-scholar "who enhances teaching through scholarship, research, or creative work, integrating the perspective of seeker and teacher, and demonstrates to students and colleagues the value and excitement of scholarly inquiry."

Assistant Professor of Physics Parker Troischt and Gary Herion, professor of religious studies, were recognized as this year's winners of the Winifred D. Wandersee Scholar-in-Residence Award.

In closing the ceremony, Drugovich noted the students' commitment not just to pursuits of excellence, but to the values of the Hartwick community.

"Honor is yours today because you have demonstrated through your actions that you are worthy of this distinction," Drugovich told the students.  "You have been true to yourself, and this is what has set you apart. We acknowledge your passage into the community of scholars that is the Hartwick College community. You have won our praise, but more important you have won the respect of those from whom you have learned so much. That, my friends, is the greatest honor.

"Once again," she said, "congratulations. Well done."

For the full list of all award winners celebrated during Honors Convocation 2012, visit the convocation Web page.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Hartwick College is a private liberal arts and sciences college of 1,500 students, located in Oneonta, NY, in the northern foothills of the Catskill Mountains. Hartwick's expansive curriculum emphasizes a uniquely experiential approach to the liberal arts. Through personalized teaching, collaborative research, a unique January Term, a wide range of internships, and vast study-abroad opportunities, Hartwick ensures that students are prepared for the world ahead. A Three-Year Bachelor's Degree Program and strong financial aid and scholarship offerings keep a Hartwick education affordable

Contact: Christopher Lott
Phone: 607-431-4030