Hartwick College campus view of pergola on Founders' Way

Student Leadership Awards

At Hartwick College we take pride in our students' accomplishments!

2024 Ceremony

Thursday, April 18
5 – 7 p.m.
Slade Theatre, Yager Hall

Each spring, at our Student Leadership Awards Ceremony, the College recognizes students for their contributions to the community.

Students are honored for their involvement in working with student organizations, student government, community service, campus arts, and more. Students, faculty and staff attend the awards ceremony that culminates with the presentation of the President’s Leadership Award.

Awards are presented by students and members of the faculty and staff.

2024 Recipients

President’s Leadership Award – Victoria Balfe ’24
The Robert Houghton ’76 Memorial Scholarship Award – Chelsea Kotey ’25
The Robert Harlem Sr. Newman Foundation Award – Jack Magee ’25
The Susan Nesbitt Newman Foundation Award – Sarah Matumbura ’26

Student Government Awards
Most Improved Club Or Organization – Wicked ESports
Outstanding Programming – HCAB
Outstanding Student Organization – Latinos Unidos Association
Outstanding Student Advisor – Mary Allen
Emerging Leader – Avontae Palmer ’27
Excellence in Leadership – James Mendez ’26

Residential Life and Housing Awards
Resident Advisor of the Year – Pablo Gutierrez ’25 and Andrea Devers ’25
Senior resident Advisor of the Year – Francesca Sinacore ’25

George F Goodwin Sustained Service Award – Sam Caceres ’24 , Amy Piper ’25 and Roselyn DuMerville ’25

The Community Involvement and Volunteerism Award- Kathryn Schmidt ’24

The Student Success Center
Outstanding New Student – Avontae Palmer ’27
Outstanding New Student Mentor – Maggie VanValkenburgh ’26
Resiliency Award – Sage Steele ’27

Hartwick Empathy Assistance Referral Team (HEART) Awards
Peer Counselor Award – Shelby Swartz ’26
The Heidi Tanner Peer Health and Educator Excellence Award – Avontae Palmer ’27

Student Experience Leadership and Service Awards
Innovative Campus Programming – Jodi Johnson ’24
Significant Contribution to the Quality of Life – Abigayle Olson ’25
Outstanding Service to College and Community – VITA


This award is given to a student, individual, or group that has introduced an unique program or new service or activity that reflects an understanding of the issues and challenges young adults address in their lives as students and future leaders.

This award is given to a student, individual, or group that has, through programs, services, or social or educational activities, contributed to enriching the curricular and co-curricular experiences of peers.

This award is given to a student, individual or group that has been actively involved in community service both on and off campus. Candidates should be strongly identified with creating facilitating or participation in service programs and activities.

The recipient of this award is a rising sophomore, junior, or senior who has been elected to serve on the Student Senate and who has demonstrated financial need.

Established by the Newman Foundation in 2013, this award is for one male, full-time student, who has maintained at least a 3.0 GPA, has involvement in community service and has financial need.

Established by the Newman Foundation in 2013,this award is for one female, full-time student, who has maintained 3.0 GPA, is involved in community service, and has financial need.

The Hartwick College President’s Leadership Award is given to the graduating senior who, through scholarship (a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0), leadership, and service, most exemplifies the values we aspire to at Hartwick College. The recipient will be a student whose passionate leadership has led directly to positive change within the Hartwick community. This leadership can be expressed in advocacy for an issue, idea, or cause within the campus community, or as a representative of the College within the greater Oneonta community. This awardee will demonstrate success through leadership that educates and engages others, encourages greater awareness, greater engagement, greater philanthropy, and/or greater wellness within our community.

The Dr. Robert E. & Mary Alice Mansbach Scholarship was established by Lee and Sue Idleman in honor of their friends, the Mansbachs. This scholarship is awarded to a rising sophomore with a minimum 2.7 GPA; a commitment to the liberal arts; demonstrated financial need; involvement in a community action agency, organization, or institution in Oneonta; and showing promise of continuing that involvement throughout his/her Hartwick College career.

* The Dr. Robert E. and Mrs. Mary Alice McCue Mansbach Scholarship is presented each year at Honors Convocation.

The Barbara F. Wilder H’93 and Phillip S. Wilder, Jr. H’93 Citizenship Award was established in honor of Dr. Philip Wilder, President of Hartwick College from 1977-1992, and his wife Barbara F. Wilder. The fund provides a scholarship to a rising senior whose career at Hartwick is exemplified by outstanding leadership, citizenship, strong academic performance, and who has financial need.

* The Barbara F. and Philip S. Wilder, Jr. Hartwick Citizen Award is presented each year at Honors Convocation.