President Margaret L. Drugovich (left center) presents an award to Chase Perrin '20 at the 2019 Honors Convocation ceremony

170 Success Stories Celebrated at Hartwick’s 2019 Honors Convocation

May 2, 2019

Hartwick College honored nearly 170 students and faculty members last night during its annual Honors Convocation ceremony in Lambros Arena in Binder Physical Education Center. President Margaret L. Drugovich and members of the Hartwick College community gathered for the celebration of excellence in scholarship, and to congratulate the recipients of awards granted by academic departments and programs, as well as by several staff departments.

Among those honored during the evening were six John Christopher Hartwick Scholars, announced by Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Michael G. Tannenbaum. These students join 282 previous John Christopher Hartwick Scholars as the 52nd class of JCH awardees. This distinction — the highest honor the College confers upon a student — is based on academic achievement, leadership, and character. The JCH Scholars for 2019-20 are:

  • Emilija Aleksandrovic ’20
  • Diana Bechdol ’20
  • Kevin Jensen ’20
  • Rebecca Lelles ’20
  • Matipa Mutoti ’20
  • Hannah Warren ’20

Professor of History and Faculty Chair Dr. Cherilyn Lacy presented almost 80 awards for academic achievement in areas of study.

Five new Baker-Simpson Entrepreneurial Fellows were introduced, as were three Duffy Family Ambassador Fund Scholarship winners. Twelve students who participated in the Emerson International Internship Scholarship program were also named.

Also, 32 students were named Andrew B. Saxton Undergraduate Fellows, 28 were listed as Faculty Scholars, 26 students were inducted into the Hartwick College Honor Society, and 16 were recognized for successful completion of the Hartwick College Honors Program.

The finalists for the Kellogg Oratorical Prize gave their speeches during Honors Convocation. The finalists are Morgan Halerpin ’19, Rachael Utegg ’19, and Joseph Ziegler III ’19. The Kellogg Prize winner will be announced at the College’s Commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 19.

Assistant Professor of English Dr. Umayyah Cable and Assistant Professor of Marketing Dr. WeiWei Zhang won the Winifred D. Wandersee Scholar-In-Residence Award. This award is given in memory of Professor of History and Faculty Chair Dr. Winifred Wandersee, who cared deeply about both her students and her scholarship and who enjoyed a national reputation as a historian of women in the workforce.

The prestigious Teacher-Scholar Award was presented to Professor of Religious Studies Dr. C.W. “Sandy” Huntington. The award recognizes the tradition of the teacher-scholar “who enhances teaching through scholarship, research, or creative work, integrating the perspective of seeker and teacher, and demonstrates to students and colleagues the value and excitement of scholarly inquiry.”

For a list of all honorees, read or download the awards booklet.

For more information on the awards ceremony, visit the Hartwick College Honors Convocation website or contact Director of Retention Glenn Braddock at 607-431-4408 or