President Drugovich (l) presents an award during 2018 Honors Convocation

2018 Honors Convocation Continues Hartwick College Tradition

May 3, 2018

Hartwick College honored more than 150 students and faculty members last night during the annual Honors Convocation ceremony in Lambros Arena, Binder Physical Education Center. President Margaret L. Drugovich and members of the Hartwick College community gathered for the celebration of excellence in scholarship, and to congratulate the recipients of awards granted by academic departments and programs, as well as by several staff departments.

Among those honored during the evening were six John Christopher Hartwick Scholars, announced by Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Michael G. Tannenbaum. These students join 280 previous John Christopher Hartwick Scholars as the 51st class of JCH awardees. This distinction — the highest honor the College can confer upon a student — is based on academic achievement, leadership, and character. The JCH Scholars for 2018-19 are:

  • William Eger ’19
  • Farheen Fatima ’19
  • Vanessa Morgan ’19
  • Matthew Morrish ’19
  • Gavin Smith ’19
  • Nicholas Weidman ’19

Professor of History and Faculty Chair Dr. Cherilyn Lacy presented almost 80 awards for academic achievement in areas of study.

Five new Baker-Simpson Entrepreneurial Fellows were introduced; three Duffy Family Ambassador Fund Scholarship winners and 10 students who participated in the Emerson International Internship Scholarship program were also highlighted.

Also, 28 students were named Andrew B. Saxton Undergraduate Fellows, 21 were listed as Faculty Scholars, 30 students were inducted into the Hartwick College Honor Society, and 13 were recognized for successful completion of the Hartwick College Honors Program.

For the first time, the finalists for the Kellogg Oratorical Prize gave their speeches during Honors Convocation. The finalists are Aslyn Avila ’18, Alexzandrea Richards ’18, and Stephanie Sacco ’18. The Kellogg Prize winner will be announced at the College’s Commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 19.

The Winifred D. Wandersee Scholar-In-Residence Award was given to Professor of Art Katharine Kreisher. This award is given in memory of Professor of History and Faculty Chair Dr. Winifred Wandersee, who cared deeply about both her students and her scholarship and who enjoyed a national reputation as a historian of women in the work force.

The prestigious Teacher-Scholar Award was presented to Associate Professor of Chemistry Dr. John Dudek. The award recognizes the tradition of the teacher-scholar “who enhances teaching through scholarship, research, or creative work, integrating the perspective of seeker and teacher, and demonstrates to students and colleagues the value and excitement of scholarly inquiry.”

For more information, visit the Hartwick College Honors Convocation website or contact Associate Director of First Year Experience Ann-Lis Glenn at 607-431-4744 or