2022 Honors Convocation Salutes Top Hartwick College Students

May 18, 2022

Hartwick College honored nearly 170 students and faculty members recently during the annual Honors Convocation ceremony in Lambros Arena, Binder Physical Education Center. President Margaret L. Drugovich and members of the Hartwick College community gathered for the celebration of excellence in scholarship, and to congratulate the recipients of awards granted by academic departments and programs, as well as by several staff departments.

Honors Convocation celebrates excellence in scholarship, and congratulates the recipients of awards granted by academic departments and programs, as well as by several staff departments.

Among those honored during the evening were six John Christopher Hartwick Scholars, announced by Assistant Dean of Faculty Dr. Cherilyn Lacy. These students join 300 previous John Christopher Hartwick Scholars as the 55th class of JCH awardees. This distinction — the highest academic honor the College confers upon a student — is based on academic achievement, leadership, and character. The JCH Scholars for 2022-23 are:

  • James Lukasik ’23
  • Madison Corso ’23
  • John Mahn ’23
  • Pauller Awino Musyoka ’23
  • Jacqueline Gerstenberger ’23
  • Sydney Gagnon ’23

Associate Professor of Political Science and Faculty Chair-elect Dr. James D. Buthman presented nearly 100 awards for academic achievement in areas of study. Six Duffy Family Ambassador Fund Scholarship winner were announced, including three 2021 recipients whose projects were postponed until January/Spring 2022 were recognized. Five students who participated in the Emerson International Internship Scholarship program were also named (one 2021 recipient whose project was postponed was recognized).

Three students were named inaugural recipients of the first President Margaret L. Drugovich P’12 Award For Personal Courage. This award was established by family and friends of the president and given to a qualified rising sophomore, junior, or senior Hartwick College student or students with demonstrated financial need who has faced adversity and is persevering.

Also, 26 students were named Andrew B. Saxton Undergraduate Fellows, 26 were listed as Faculty Scholars, 26 students were inducted into the Hartwick College Honor Society, and 17 were recognized for successful completion of the Hartwick College Honors Program. The Eta Mu Chapter of the Delta Alpha Pi International Honor Society, which recognizes the academic accomplishments of Hartwick students with disabilities, inducted 10 members this year.

Finalists for the Kellogg Oratorical Prize gave their speeches during Honors Convocation. They were Ankita Bal ’22, Madison Markey ’22, Gabrielle Voli ’22, and Vandia Williams ’22. The winner will be announced at the College’s Commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 21.

The Hartwick College Brass Ensemble performed throughout the event, highlighted by a solo from trumpeter Robert Johns ’22 and a surprise rendition of The Throne Room by John Williams, from the 1977 movie “Star Wars: Episode IV–A New Hope.”

To watch a recording of the ceremony or download the keepsake booklet with complete list of honorees, visit www.hartwick.edu/honorsconvocation.

For more information on the awards program, contact Assistant Dean of Faculty Dr. Cherilyn Lacy at 607-431-4885 or lacyc@hartwick.edu.