Hartwick Salutes Top Students at Annual Honors Convocation

Hartwick College honored more than 160 students and faculty members this evening during a virtual rendition of its annual Honors Convocation ceremony. Presenters dressed in traditional academic regalia in the pre-recorded video segments in honor of the student recipients. President Margaret L. Drugovich served as the host and announced the evening’s top awards.

Honors Convocation celebrates excellence in scholarship, and congratulates the recipients of awards granted by academic departments and programs, as well as by several staff departments.

Among those honored during the ceremony were six John Christopher Hartwick Scholars, announced by President Drugovich. These students join 294 previous John Christopher Hartwick Scholars as the 54th class of JCH awardees. This distinction — the highest academic honor the College confers upon a student — is based on academic achievement, leadership, and character. The JCH Scholars for 2021-22 are:

  • Anne Baskwill ’22
  • Cara Dugan ’22
  • Neiva Fortes ’22
  • Kristopher Kremsner ’22
  • Armando Velazquez ’22
  • Vandia Williams ’22

Professor of Economics and Faculty Chair Dr. Karl Seeley presented nearly 100 awards for academic achievement in areas of study.

Also, 30 students were named Andrew B. Saxton Undergraduate Fellows, 27 were listed as Faculty Scholars, 21 students were inducted into the Hartwick College Honor Society, and seven were recognized for successful completion of the Hartwick College Honors Program.

Professor of English and Department Chair Dr. Susan J. Navarette presented the finalists for the Kellogg Oratorical Prize, who gave their speeches during Honors Convocation. The finalists, whose pre-recorded presentations were shown during the ceremony, are Kiara Biroo ’20, Rachel Hedden ’21, Lydia Marteney ’21, and Moriah Mitchell ’21. The Kellogg Prize winner will be announced at the College’s Commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 29, 2021.

Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts Barbara Kahl and Professor of Biology Mark Kuhlmann won the Winifred D. Wandersee Scholar-In-Residence Award. This award is given in memory of Professor of History and Faculty Chair Dr. Winifred Wandersee, who enjoyed a national reputation as a historian of women in the workforce.

The prestigious Teacher-Scholar Award was presented to Associate Professor of Art Richard Barlow. The award recognizes the tradition of the teacher-scholar “who enhances teaching through scholarship, research, or creative work, integrating the perspective of seeker and teacher, and demonstrates to students and colleagues the value and excitement of scholarly inquiry.”

To watch the recording of the ceremony and download the keepsake booklet with complete list of honorees, visit www.hartwick.edu/honorsconvocation.

For more information on the awards ceremony, contact Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs Kellie Bean at 607-431-4106 or beank@hartwick.edu.

Hartwick College is a nationally ranked, selective, independent college of the arts and sciences located in Oneonta, NY, in the northern foothills of the Catskill Mountains. Founded in 1797, Hartwick is one of the oldest institutions of higher education in the United States and has a long-standing tradition of adaptation and innovation. The College offers 35 courses of study leading to a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree and has gained renown for its innovative three-year degree program. Integrating an arts and science-based education with faculty-facilitated experiences – including study abroad, advanced research, and community-based service learning – Hartwick College prepares students to become valuable, fulfilled, and future-ready members of global businesses and society.

Contact:  David Lubell
E-mail:     lubelld@hartwick.edu
Phone:     607-431-4031

Back To Top