Hartwick College Logo

Hartwick’s Traditional Honors Convocation Goes Virtual

June 2, 2020

Hartwick College put a new twist on an old tradition last week when it honored 170 students and faculty members during a virtual rendition of its annual Honors Convocation ceremony. Although students were not present, and faculty and non-essential staff were working and watching the program from home, presenters dressed in traditional academic regalia to honor the student recipients. President Margaret L. Drugovich served as the host and announced the evening’s top awards.

Honors Convocation celebrates excellence in scholarship, and congratulates the recipients of awards granted by academic departments and programs, as well as by several staff departments.

Among those honored during the evening were six John Christopher Hartwick Scholars, announced by President Drugovich. These students join 288 previous John Christopher Hartwick Scholars as the 53rd class of JCH awardees. This distinction — the highest academic honor the College confers upon a student — is based on academic achievement, leadership, and character. The JCH Scholars for 2020-21 are:

  • Caitlyn Cooney ’21
  • Harrison Helinski ’21
  • Lydia Marteney ’21
  • Jennifer Paszko ’21
  • Olivia Roth ’21
  • Morghan Strahley ’21

Professor of History and Faculty Chair Dr. Cherilyn Lacy presented more than 100 awards for academic achievement in areas of study.

Vice President Paula Lee Hobson announced four Baker-Simpson Women’s Entrepreneurial Leadership Fellows and the Duffy Family Ambassador Fund Scholarship winner. Eight students who participated in the Emerson International Internship Scholarship program were also named.

Also, two students were named Hartwick College Entrepreneurial Fellows, 29 students were named Andrew B. Saxton Undergraduate Fellows, 22 were listed as Faculty Scholars, 24 students were inducted into the Hartwick College Honor Society, and 18 were recognized for successful completion of the Hartwick College Honors Program.

Joseph Ziegler III ’19 presented the finalists for the Kellogg Oratorical Prize who gave their speeches during Honors Convocation. The finalists, whose pre-recorded presentations were shown during the ceremony, are Yury Chernyak ’20, Russell Elster ’20, Madison Germuska ’20, and Allison Schroeder ’20. The Kellogg Prize winner will be announced at the College’s Commencement ceremony on Saturday, September 26, 2020.

Professor of Economics and Business Administration and Accounting Department Chair Dr. Carlena Ficano and Assistant Professor of Psychology Dr, William Gleiberman-Kowalczyk won the Winifred D. Wandersee Scholar-In-Residence Award. This award is given in memory of Professor of History and Faculty Chair Dr. Winifred Wandersee, who enjoyed a national reputation as a historian of women in the workforce.

The prestigious Teacher-Scholar Award was presented to Associate Professor of Art and Art History/Department Co-Chair Stephanie Rozene. The award recognizes the tradition of the teacher-scholar “who enhances teaching through scholarship, research, or creative work, integrating the perspective of seeker and teacher, and demonstrates to students and colleagues the value and excitement of scholarly inquiry.”

To watch the recording of the ceremony and download the keepsake booklet with complete list of honorees, visit www.hartwick.edu/honorsconvocation.

For more information on the awards ceremony, contact Assistant Provost for Academic Affairs Kellie Bean at 607-431-4106 or beank@hartwick.edu.