English Faculty

Umayyah Cable, Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Southern California
cableu@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Arab and Muslim American studies, transnational American studies, cinema and media studies, postcolonial theory, queer theory, feminist theory, critical ethnic studies

James Cochran, Interim Coordinator of the Writing Center
Ph.D., Baylor University
Areas of expertise: writing center studies; first-year writing, digital composition, twentieth-century and contemporary American literature, ecocriticism

David Cody, Professor of English
Ph.D., Brown University
codyd@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: 19th century American literature and culture, the relationship between English and American literature; science and literature; the literature of imperialism; the literature of horror

Lisa Darien, Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley
darienl@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Old English and Anglo-Saxon literature and culture, Beowulf, Old Norse-Icelandic literature and culture, Middle English and Chaucer, women in the middle Ages, nineteenth-century medievalism

Bradley J. Fest, Assistant Professor of English
M.F.A., University of Pittsburgh - Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
festb@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Creative writing; poetry; twentieth- and twenty-first-century United States literature and culture; history of literary criticism and theory; ecological humanities; digital studies

Susan J. Navarette, Professor of English, Department Chair, Interim Director of the Writing Program
Ph.D., University of Michigan
navarettes@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: narrative, genre, and cultural studies; 18th through early 20th-century British culture and literature; scientific theory and narrative form; gender studies; film studies

Robert Seguin, Associate Professor of English, Coordinator of Race & Ethnic Studies
Ph.D., Duke University
seguinr@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: modern and contemporary American literature, literary and cultural theory, the utopian tradition in literature, modernism in the arts

Tessa Yang, Assistant Professor of English
M.F.A, Indiana University - Bloomington
yangt@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Creative writing, literary and genre fiction, the short story, flash fiction, literary editing and publishing

Back To Top