English Faculty

Robert Bensen, Professor of English and Director of Writing
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
bensenr@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: composition, poetry & fiction writing, 17th Century English literature, American Indian literature and law, West Indian literature

David Cody, Professor of English
Ph.D., Brown University
codyd@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: 19th century American literature and culture, the relationship between English and American literature; science and literature; the literature of imperialism; the literature of horror

Lisa Darien, Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley
darienl@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Old English and Anglo-Saxon literature and culture, Beowulf, Old Norse-Icelandic literature and culture, Middle English and Chaucer, women in the middle Ages, nineteenth-century medievalism

Bradley J. Fest, Assistant Professor of English
M.F.A., University of Pittsburgh - Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
festb@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Creative writing; poetry; twentieth- and twenty-first-century United States literature and culture; history of literary criticism and theory; ecological humanities; digital studies

Susan J. Navarette, Professor of English and Department Chair
Ph.D., University of Michigan
navarettes@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: narrative, genre, and cultural studies; 18th through early 20th-century British culture and literature; scientific theory and narrative form; gender studies; film studies

Robert Seguin, Associate Professor of English, Coordinator of Race & Ethnic Studies
Ph.D., Duke University
seguinr@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: modern and contemporary American literature, literary and cultural theory, the utopian tradition in literature, modernism in the arts

Julia Suarez Hayes, Assistant Professor of English and Writing Center Coordinator
MA, State University of New York at Oneonta
suarezj@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: creative writing; composition; grammar; American literature; American Romantics

Thomas Travisano, Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Virginia
travisanot@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: modern and contemporary American literature; twentieth-century poetry; Elizabeth Bishop; Robert Lowell

Jake Wolff, Assistant Professor of English
M.F.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison - Ph.D., Florida State University
wolffj@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: creative writing; fiction; non-fiction; contemporary American short stories and novels; medical writing in fiction and nonfiction; historical fiction

Back To Top