English Faculty

Umayyah Cable, Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Southern California
cableu@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Arab and Muslim American studies, transnational American studies, cinema and media studies, postcolonial theory, queer theory, feminist theory, critical ethnic studies

David Cody, Professor of English
Ph.D., Brown University
codyd@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: 19th century American literature and culture, the relationship between English and American literature; science and literature; the literature of imperialism; the literature of horror

Lisa Darien, Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley
darienl@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Old English and Anglo-Saxon literature and culture, Beowulf, Old Norse-Icelandic literature and culture, Middle English and Chaucer, women in the middle Ages, nineteenth-century medievalism

Bradley J. Fest, Assistant Professor of English
M.F.A., University of Pittsburgh - Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
festb@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Creative writing; poetry; twentieth- and twenty-first-century United States literature and culture; history of literary criticism and theory; ecological humanities; digital studies

Stephanie King, Interim Coordinator of the Writing Center
M.F.A., Bennington College
kings@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Creative writing; rhetoric and composition; TESOL; faculty diversity and recruiting; urban public school integration

Susan J. Navarette, Professor of English, Department Chair, Interim Director of the Writing Program
Ph.D., University of Michigan
navarettes@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: narrative, genre, and cultural studies; 18th through early 20th-century British culture and literature; scientific theory and narrative form; gender studies; film studies

Robert Seguin, Associate Professor of English, Coordinator of Race & Ethnic Studies
Ph.D., Duke University
seguinr@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: modern and contemporary American literature, literary and cultural theory, the utopian tradition in literature, modernism in the arts

Back To Top