Individual Student Program Faculty

Elizabeth Ayer, Professor of Art History, Coordinator of ISP
Ph.D., Rutgers University
ayere@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance and Baroque Art, Art of Imperial China and Art of the Andes, 13th century Italian painting and the impact of Byzantine art and culture in the West.

James Buthman, Assistant Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., Northern Arizona University
buthmanj@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Public policy and American government with an emphasis on environmental and energy policy.

Edythe Ann Quinn, Professor of History
Ph.D., University of Tennessee at Knoxville
quinne@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Contemporary America, U.S. Women, Race and Ethnicity, Civil Rights Movement, Immigration, Environmental History, U.S. Foreign Relations

Stephanie Rozene, Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Art & Art History
MFA, NSCAD
rozenes@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: ceramics, craft history, wheel throwing, hand building, surface decoration, glaze chemistry and application, electric and gas-fired kilns.

Kevin Schultz, Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook
schultzk@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: atomic physics, ultrafast lasers, semi-classical physics quantum chaos and microcontrollers.

Robert Seguin, Associate Professor of English, Coordinator of Race & Ethnic Studies
Ph.D., Duke University
seguinr@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: modern and contemporary American literature, literary and cultural theory, the utopian tradition in literature, modernism in the arts

Munir S. Syed, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology
M.B., B.S., University of Peshawar; M. Phil., University of the Punjab, Pakistan
syedm@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: clinical pathophysiology, medical microbiology, human biology
Munir Syed is a Doctor of Medicine with M.Phil. in Medical Microbiology. He taught Clinical Pathology at his alma mater, Khyber Medical College, Peshawar before immigrating to United States. Besides other biology courses, he primarily teaches Microbiology of Disease and Pathophysiology to nursing majors at Hartwick College. Munir Syed also teaches online Pathophysiology during J Term and summer sessions.

Back To Top