Academic & Faculty Committees

  1. J. Buthman (Chair),
    Divisional Representatives: M. Best (2024), L. Onorato (2024), K. Walker (2024)
    Faculty at Large Representatives: M. Chung (2023), R. Ceresola (2023), D. Zullo (2023)

The President, Chief Academic Officer, and Chair of the Faculty are ex-officio members of all standing faculty committees and shall receive timely notices of their meetings and minutes of their proceedings.

Committee on Academic Standards – TBD, Chair.
L. Nienart (2024), N. Sugandhi (2024), and S. Navarette (2024); K. Burke (2023), L. Wehner (2023), and R. Bussell (Sp 23 sab repl for Seguin 2023). ex-officios: M. Sanford.

Committee on Appointments, Tenure and Promotion – M. Wolff, Chair.
W. Zhang (AY22-23 repl for J. Chen 2023), M. Erickson (2023), and J. Wisnewski (2023); Z. Balogh-Brunstad (2024), C. Ficano (2024), and S. Rozene (2024).

Committee on Assessment of General Education – M. Allen, Chair.
J. Garrett (2025), A. Kerwin (2025), and T. Yang (2025); M. Sheehy (2023), A. Stephens (2023), and W. Wang (2023). ex-officio: JR Bjerklie, A. Tolbert.

Committee on Committees – L. Elder, Chair
B. Kahl (2025), L. Wehner (2023), and L. Elder, (2024).

Committee on Diversity and Campus Climate – TBD, Chair
PLS (2025), H. Rivera (2023), and T. Yang (2024).

Faculty Board Liaison Committee – S. Rocknak (2023), Division Chairs, and members of Faculty Council.

Committee on Faculty Compensation and Budget – J. Von Stengel, Chair, R. Bussell, Vice Chair L. Luo (2024), S. Carr (2024), and J. Von Stengel (2024); R. Bussell (2023), C. Johnson (2023), and L. Marra (2023).

Committee on Faculty Development – R. Ceresola, Chair.
M. Kuhlmann (2025), R. Ceresola (2023), and B. Fest (2024).

Graduate Advisory Committee – TBD, Chair.
R. Mess (2024), Need AH rep (2024), and W. Kowalczyk (2024); P. Grust (2023), B. Kahl (2023), and A. Stephens (2023).

Committee on Honors Program – L. Dalton and K. Jones, Co-Directors.
E. Cooper (2024) and J. Garrett (2024); Ch. Anderson (2023) and M. Wolff (Sp23 sab repl for Kano-White 2023).

Interdisciplinary Studies Committee – TBD, Chair.
M. Chick (2024), L. Nienart (2023) E. Chernyak (2023), need SBS rep (2024), L. Depperman (2024), and A. Gonzalez (2023).

Committee on Library & Educational Technology – (Chair TBA)
Z. McKenney (2024), B. Fest (2024), and R. Hada (2024); L. Darien (2023), M. Kofke (2023), and R. Mess (2023); ex-officios: D. Heyduk and T. Warger.

Committee on Off-Campus Study – TBD, Chair.
B. Kahl (2025), M. Budwitz (2023), and P. Fauth (Sp 23 repl for D. Griffing 2024).

Special committees may also be established by the Chief Academic Office or the Chair of the Faculty, in consultation with the President, or by vote of the faculty. The President and Chief Academic Officer shall be ex-officio members of all Special Committees and shall be sent minutes of all meetings.

3-Year Degree Committee – TBA

Academic Computing  – TBA

Advisory Committee on Campus Safety & Security – TBA

Campus Wide Diversity Committee – B. Charles, Chair
D. Baker, E. Baxter-Toal, P. Dopazo, A-L. Gonzalez, S. Janitz, N. Mendez, J. Murray, H. Rivera, K. Walker, D. Zullo

Campus Theme Committee – A. Forster Rothbart, Chair
K. Jones, P. Stamp, M. Wolff, P. Dopazo- need PLS rep

College-Wide Assessment Committee – TBA, Chair

Committee on Athletics – TBA

Health Professions Advisory Committee – A. Piefer, Chair
M. Allen, D. Hamilton, G. Hunsberger, T. Turick-Gibson, J. Wellman

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee – M. Kuhlmann, Chair
A. Crooker, TBA from SBS, Puritz (vet), Schwalenberg (community member)

Internship Advisory Committee – (TBA, Chair)
M. Sheehy, E. Cooper, A. Forster Rothbart, S. Navarette, P. Troischt

Institutional Review Board – E. Chernyak, Chair
M. Best, W. Kowalczyk, and J. Wellman

Pine Lake Advisory Committee – TBA

Radiation Safety Committee – K. Schultz, Chair
A. Crooker, C. Decker, K. Schultz

Retention Advisory Committee – TBA, Chair
J. Czarnecki, L. Elwood, M. Kano-White, H. Lichtman, JR. Bjerklie, P. Stamp

Scholarship Awards Committee – Deputy Chair, J. Wellman
Chief Academic Officer (L. Bongiorno), Chair of the Faculty, (J. Buthman), President of the Hartwick College Honor Society (T. Yang); co-Director, Committee on Honors Program (K. Jones), Two at-large administrative reps—elected by Staff Council: T. Raimy and C. Penn; Two at-large appointments made by the Chief Academic Officer for annual service: S. Carr; Three elected faculty members: M. Sheehy (sab repl Sp23), P. Stamp (2024), and W. Wang (2025).

Arts and Humanities – Chair, M. Shaw (2024), Vice Chair, J. Von Stengel

Physical and Life Sciences – Chair, J. Dudek (2024)

Social and Behavioral Sciences – Chair, Stephens, A. (2024)

Cognitive Science Program Coordinator, Stefanie Rocknak
Committee members: A. Crooker, L. Nienart and L. Onorato

Individual Student Programs (ISP) Coordinator, Chad Anderson

Medical Technology Coordinator, Allen Crooker (on-going appointment). Need to identify replacement effective 1/1.

Museum Studies Coordinator, Doug Kendall

Peace & Conflict Studies Coordinator, Kyle Burke

Pre-Engineering Advisor – Larry Nienart

Pre-Law Advisor – Matt Chick

Race and Ethnic Studies Coordinator – Rob Seguin

Student Showcase Committee, Co-Chairs, R. Barlow and P. Troischt
S. Brunetta, K. Carlson, P. Dopazo, K. Gann, D. Lubell, C. McKown, K. Seeley, M. Shaw and T. Sousa.

Women’s and Gender Studies Program Coordinator, Karina Walker

Academic Program – P. Grust (2023), S. Navarette (2024), and W. Zhang (2024), Buthman, ex-officio (2024).

Audit & Compliance – J. Krzyston (2023), L. Luo (2024)

Board Governance – A. Forster Rothbart (2024) and L. Dalton (2023)

Enterprise Resource Generation – C. Anderson (2024) and B. Fest (2023)

Facilities – A. Piefer (2024), M. Branch (2024)

Fiscal Resource Management – A-L. Gonzalez (2024) and S. Navarette (2023).

Human Resource Advancement – P. Grust (2024) and C. Ficano (2024)

Image & Reputation – M. Chick (2024) and A. Pease (2024)

Student Experience – C. Johnson (2023) and R. Bussell (2024)

Anthropology – Jason Antrosio

Art and Art History – Rich Barlow, Co-Chair and Joe Von Stengel, Co-Chair

Biology – Peter Fauth

Business Administration and Accounting – Aaron Stephens, Co-Chair and Pauline Stamp, Co-Chair

Chemistry – Andy Piefer

CISC – Howard Litchman

Economics – Karl Seeley

Education – Elizabeth Bloom

Geological and Environmental Sciences – Zsuzsanna Balogh-Brunstad (Sp 2023)

History – Jason Antrosio

Library – David Heyduk

Literature, Media & Writing – Susan Navarette (Sp 2023)

Mathematics – Min Chung

Modern Languages – Mark Wolff

Music – Daniel Hane

Nursing – Patricia Grust

Philosophy – Stefanie Rocknak

Physical Education  – John Czarnecki

Physics – Kevin Schultz

Political Science – Laurel Elder

Psychology – Justin Wellman

Religious Studies – Lisle Dalton

Sociology – Elena Chernyak

Theatre Arts – Marc Shaw

Environment, Sustainability & Social Program – Zsuzsanna Balogh-Brunstad

Med Tech Program – Allen Crooker

Public Health Program – Lisle Dalton

Clinical & Translational Research Mgmt – Sarah Fowler-Dixon


Revised in the Office of Academic Affairs
Spring 2023

Bresee Hall Room 205

Monday to Friday
9 a.m. to 5 p.m.