Art & Art History Faculty

Barbara Ardan, Lecturer in Art
B.A., Wellesley College
ardanb@hartwick.edu

Elizabeth Ayer, Professor of Art History, Coordinator of ISP
Ph.D., Rutgers University
ayere@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance and Baroque Art, Art of Imperial China and Art of the Andes, 13th century Italian painting and the impact of Byzantine art and culture in the West.

Richard Barlow, Assistant Professor of Art
MFA, University of Minnesota
barlowr@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: drawing, painting, two-dimensional design

Leah Frankel, Visiting Professor of Art
MFA, The Ohio State University
frankell@hartwick.edu

Nick George, 2D Technician
MFA, The Ohio State University
georgen@hartwick.edu

Erik Halvorson, Glass Artist in Residence and 3D Technician
MFA, NYSCC at Alfred University
halvorsone@hartwick.edu

Katharine Kreisher, Professor of Art
MFA, State University of New York at Albany
kreisherk@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: documentary photography, alternative processes, photo-related printmaking methods.

Stephanie Rozene, Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Art & Art History
MFA, NSCAD
rozenes@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: ceramics, craft history, wheel throwing, hand building, surface decoration, glaze chemistry and application, electric and gas-fired kilns.

Joseph Von Stengel, Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Art and Art History
MFA, University of Oregon
vonstengelj@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: digital art, 2D animation, digital video, 3D printing, graphic design, social media marketing.
Joseph received a BFA in Art with a concentration in Photography at the University of Hartford. He worked as a professional darkroom printer, photographer and graphic designer for the following 8 years while continuing to create and show his art. In 2004, Joseph graduated from the University of Oregon with a MFA in Visual Design. His artwork has been shown in galleries and museums across the country, from Seattle’s Center on Contemporary Art to Art:21’s Public Art Project in Charleston, NC. Joseph’s recent shows include digital image projections presented at “Paint the Town Red” in Birmingham England and “Gun Show” an exploration of 3D printed guns. Joseph’s artwork is the result of his fascination with technology, emotional response to nostalgia and postmodern upbringing.

Douglas Zullo, Associate Professor of Art History
Ph.D., The Ohio State University
zullod@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: modern western art, art of the 19th and 20th centuries, contemporary art, world cinema, history of photography, and Buddhist art, cross-currents between visual art, music, literature, and performance.

Back To Top