Education Faculty

Erin Baxter-Toal, Director of Pine Lake Environmental Campus & Challenge Education
B.S. East Stroudsburg University
toale@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: outdoor recreation management, challenge course programming, health and physical education

Elizabeth Bloom, Associate Professor and Chair of Education Department
Ed.D., Binghamton University
bloome@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: sociological foundations of education; educational psychology; social studies education.

Jennifer Brislin, Coordinator of Student Teaching & Field Experience
brislinj@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Certification Officer, NYS teacher certification procedures and requirements, student teaching and field placement, Public School Liaison, departmental requirements and records

Michelle L. Damiani, Assistant Professor of Education
Ph.D. Candidate, Syracuse University
damianim@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: inclusive education, special education, teaching methods for diverse learners, disability studies in education, educators with disabilities, sustainable international inclusive education, teacher education

Mark Davies, Professor of Education & Director of Environmental, Sustainability & Society
Ed.D., Rutgers University
daviesm@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Critical pedagogy, critical pedagogy of place, sustainability, environmental education, ecopedagogy

Johanna Mitchell, Associate Professor of Education
Ph.D., University of Utah
mitchellj@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: History of education reform, children’s literature, history of misogyny, elementary science and mathematics methods, history and theories of psychology, political economy of 19th and 20th centuries

Meghan Sheehy, Assistant Professor of Music Education
Ph.D., The University of Southern Mississippi
sheehym@hartwick.edu
Areas of expertise: Music education
Meghan K. Sheehy received her B.M.Ed., M.M. in Music Education, and Ph.D. in Music Education from The University of Southern Mississippi. Her dissertation, A Quantitative Analysis of the Relationship Between K-12 Music Educators and Collegiate Music Education Researcher and Instructors: Is There a Disconnect? was supervised by Dr. Steven R. Moser, and focused on interpreting the relationship between music researchers and practitioners to determine if and where disconnect may exist.

Back To Top